Michel Brune was awarded the 2017 Three Physicists Prize for his works on cavity quantum electrodynamics, particularly for the realization of non-destructive photon-counting experiments and for the preparation of non-classical states of the electromagnetic field.

Michel Brune is one of the founding members of the “Cavity Quantum Electrodynamics” team, and currently leads the group with Jean-Michel Raimond. He plays an essential role in the team’s work on fundamental tests of quantum physics.

The Three Physicists Prize was founded in 1951 by Mrs Eugène Bloch, in memory of the three founders of the ENS Physics Department, Henri Abraham, Eugène Bloch and Georges Bruhat, all dead in deportation in the Nazi concentration camps.

The award ceremony will take place at an exceptional colloquium of the ENS Physics Department on Tuesday October 3rd 2017 at 5 pm.