Elisabeth Giacobino

Elisabeth Giacobino

Emeritus Researcher

Nano-Optics and Quantum Fluids of Light teams

Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 1.21.00 AM

Elisabeth Giacobino


  • 1965-1969          Student at the Ecole Normale Supérieure
  • 1969                   Agrégation, Physical Sciences.
  • 1976                   Docteur ès Sciences (Ph. D.) in Physics



  • 1969 – 1976         Junior Researcher (Attaché de Recherche) at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
  • 1976 – 1982         Researcher at CNRS (Chargé de Recherche)
  • 1982-1983           Invited Professor, New-York University
  • 1982 – 2002         Directeur de recherche (Research Director) at CNRS
  • 2003- 2006          Director for Research at the Ministry for Education, Higher Education and Research
  • 2006 – 2011         Directeur de recherche (Research Director) at CNRS
  • 2011-                   Directeur de recherche Emerite


Research (Laboratoire Kastler Brossel, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Université Paris 6 and CNRS)

1970 – 1987        laser spectroscopy and two-photon spectroscopy in ra    re gases and alkali vapours, collisional effects, nonlinear effects and optical bistability

1985 – 1995        quantum optics and generation of squeezed quantum states of light; first experimental demonstration of two-mode squeezing with an optical parametric oscillator (Fabry-de Gramont award of the French Optical Society)

1990 – 1998        noise studies in semi-conductor lasers and in microlasers; interpretation for intensity squeezing in diode lasers

1990 – 2003        quantum state generation with cold atoms: novel results on light squeezing and first demonstration of entangled light generation with cold atoms

2005 – present     electromagnetically induced transparency, light matter entanglement and development of quantum memories in atomic ensembles; demonstration of a cold-atom based quantum  memory for “twisted photons” (photons carrying an orbital angular momentum)

1998 – present     semiconductor microcavities, study of nonlinear and bistable behaviour, generation of squeezed and correlated light in a semiconductor microcavity; first demonstration of optical spin Hall effect; first demonstration of superfluidity in microcavity polaritons. Investigation of the appearance of dark solitons, quantum turbulence and vortices in polariton fluids

2001 – present     semiconductor nanocrystals: single photon generation, cavity QED effects

230 publications, with over 25 in the past 5 years,   110 invited presentations in international conferences
4800 citations (4310 without self-citations), h-index=41 (Web-of-Science)
6229 citations (5730 without self citations), h index = 45 (Google Scholar)



  • 2002                    Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur
  • 2009                    Member of the German Academy, Academia Leopoldina
  • 2009                    Fellow of the European Optical Society (EOS)
  • 2010                    Fellow of the European Physical Society (EPS)
  • 2010                    Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA)
  • 2011                    Prix Robin, Award of the French Physical Society
  • 2012                    Gay-Lussac Humboldt Award

Research Management

  • 1992 – 1995         Expert for atomic and molecular physics and optics at the Mathematics and Physics Department of CNRS
  • 1994 – 1997        Deputy director of the Laboratoire Kastler Brossel (Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS), University Paris 6 and CNRS)
  • 1995 – 1999         Deputy director of the Mathematics and Physics Department of CNRS.
    Member of the boards of large infrastructures, large lasers, detection of gravitational waves (Virgo);; support of interdisciplinary research at CNRS
  • 1995 – 2000         Expert for the European Commission. Member of the Physics Panel for individual (Marie Curie) fellowships (1995-2000); chairperson for the Training Sites (2000) .
  • 1996 – 2001         Elected Member of the Conseil National des Universités (section 30, optics and atomic physics) (evaluation and promotion of assistant professors and professors)
  • 1997-2001           Member of the Commission de Spécialistes de l’Université Paris 7 (recruitment of Professors)
  • 1999 – 2001         Director of Laboratoire Kastler Brossel (ENS, Paris 6, CNRS, 150 persons) , Management of the budget and contracts with the Ministry of research and CNRS
  • 2001 – 2002         Director of the Mathematics and Physics Department of CNRS
    In charge of the organisation and funding of 170 laboratories (3000 CNRS personnel, 6000 professors; management of large research infrastructures; interdisciplinary research at CNRS
  • 2002-2006           General Director for Research at the Ministry for Higher Education and Research.
    Management of the French Research Organisations (CNRS, Inserm etc);  research contracts with universities and funding of the 3500 research teams in France, based on peer evaluation
  • 2006 – 2010         Head of Interdisciplinary Programs, CNRS; advisor to the Director General, CNRS
  • 2006 – present     President of the National Network for Complex systems
  • 2009 – 2012        Chair of the jury for Natural Sciences at the Institut Universitaire de France
  • 2006 – present     President of Institut d’Optique Graduate School
  • 2015 – present     Advisor to the ANR (French National Research Agency) for Quantum Technologies

International Committees membership  (recent)

  • 2009                    Evaluation of the « Quantum Cluster » of the Australian National University
  • 2006-2008           Member of EAB of the « Focus Centre » of the University of Michigan (Ann Arbour, USA)
  • 2007-2009           Member of the Scientific Committee for Laser Physics at Cairo University (Egypt)
  • 2009- present       Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of LENS (Florence, Italy)
  • 2009 and 2013     Evaluation Committee for the Physics Department of the Danish Technical University (DTU)
  • 2009-2012           President of the External Advisory board of the European Excellence Network QUIE2T
  • 2011                    Member of the Scientific Committee for Excellence Centers in Spain
  • 2011                    Program co-chair of the FET11 Conference of the European Commission in Budapest
  • 2008-2012           Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light (Erlangen, D)
  • 2011-2012           Co-Chair of the Scientific Committee for the ERA.net-RUS Consortium
  • 2012-present        Panel for the Swiss National Center of Competence “Quantum Science and Technology”
  • 2014                    Member of the Evaluation Committee for the Helmholtz Association
  • 2007 – 2012        Member of the Information Society Technology Advisory Group (ISTAG) for the European Commission; member of the Future and Emerging Technologies working group
  • 2008 –2013         Chair of the European Research Council (ERC) Panel for Physics PE2-B (Advanced)
  • 2011- present       Chair and Member of the Scientific Council of the City of Paris
  • 2015- 2017          Member of the ERC Panel PE2 (Starting)